“A Woman Walking in the Road,” Terrance Hayes

Lauren Russell, Hot Metal Bridge: You have also said you aren’t interested in “perfect poems.” Why not?

Terrance Hayes: Every year I have something. [I’m talking about] not a deliberately flawed poem but more a reflection of a perspective, which is not about perfection. If you think about an animal, there’s no perfect animal. Most people think of poems like they’re machines. I’m thinking of something more organic and human that exists the way it needs to exist, more like a baby or child. How do you achieve that? I think of myself as a person who likes to be in control of everything. So how do I surprise myself? For so long I’ve been this person who’s been too in control, so how do I relinquish control? Some of it’s about line breaks, narrative. I like the poem to look a certain way in terms of line breaks, but how do I release control? Some of it is subject matter. The poet wants to be liked in the poem, but what does it mean to not always chase some kind of appeal? Discomfort, vulnerability, rawness that come up in a poem—that also has to do with perfection, the absence of perfection. That’s hard to teach, but if you make people more generous in the workshop, then you can get it. You say, “Oh, it’s not a perfect poem, but it’s pretty good; we’ll take that.” It creates generosity if you aren’t chasing a perfect object.

from “Music Without Full Instrumentation”: An Interview with Terrance Hayes

Terrance Hayes reads “A Woman Walking in the Road” (audio courtesy From the Fishouse, image credit: Academy of American Poets’ Flickr photostream):

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Poem Project

Leave a Reply

