Call for Submissions: 2013 Poem Project

In honor of National Poetry Month in April, I’ve decided to hold my own, month-long celebration of excellent poems. But I need your help! You see, inspired by Favorite Poem Project and my friend Jen Knoch’s Keep Toronto Reading coverage, I’m asking you to contribute a video where you talk about and read aloud one of your favorite poems. No need to be fancy or to speak at length, please just share a poem that spoke to you at some point in your life, for whatever reason. I’m hoping to create a small scale kaleidoscope of good poetry, something along the lines of a limited term Verse Daily.

Here’s an excellent example from the Favorite Poem Project, where photographer Seph Rodney explains his love for Plath’s “Nick and the Candlestick”:

Entries will be accepted until April 30th, 2013. Email me at: thatklickitat [at] gmail [dot] com for more information or to submit a link to a YouTube or Vimeo hosted video. I’ll also accept a SoundCloud audiofile, if you’re camera shy. 

7 Comments

Filed under Audience Participation, Housekeeping

7 responses to “Call for Submissions: 2013 Poem Project

  1. Pingback: The Dad Poet

  2. Pingback: Love Poems You Wish You Had Written #3: Readings by Ygor Raduy | The Dad Poet

  3. I’ve referred to this a couple of times in my related articles because I think this is such an awesome idea, and I’m jealous that I didn’t think of it first. 🙂 It’s the sort of thing I like to do for fun, but the idea of calling others together who don’t normally do this, to record one favorite poem and why it’s meaningful to them. . . well, I’m excited to see what you come up with. I’ll submit something, but I am not sure what yet. I will think on one of my earliest or most important influences and record something about that. Thanks for carrying this torch!

  4. Pingback: “After the Test Said Yes” by Kelly Madigan | Klickitat

  5. Pingback: “Poetry isn’t about expression so much as exploration.” | Klickitat

  6. Pingback: “You think of a nice word and rhyme it with a lot of other nice words” | Klickitat

Leave a Reply

