“Part of my job is to be a book-pusher.”

I’m an admirer of short story writer and novelist Rebecca Makkai, who works as an elementary school teacher, in addition to writing. In a recent Millions interview she said: “I’ve read out loud to children for half an hour every school day for the past eleven years, and that daily engagement with children’s books has kept them very much a part of my literary landscape. And part of my job is to be a book-pusher. At times I feel a bit like some skeezy drug dealer, hanging out at the edge of the playground, going, “If I can get them to try it just this once, I’ll have them hooked!”

Doubt there are few librarians or teachers who can’t relate.

Leave a comment

Filed under Professional Practice, Quote of the Day, This Business of Writing, Youth Literature in the Wild

Leave a Reply

