Covered: We Have Always Lived In The Castle

Shirley Jackson fans, raise your hand. Or better yet, make a spooky sound.

There’s a certain beauty to well done genre fiction covers isn’t there? (And the bad are at least good for a chuckle.) If you ever attend Friends of the Library book sales (or the like) make sure to visit the genre fiction section. It’s fun to get in touch with your dramatic side every once and a while.

Anyone who follows my Goodreads queue will notice I’ve been in a horror/suspense place lately. I can’t really explain why. Maybe I’m nostalgic for my adolescent Fear Street binges. Whatever the reason, given my current reading mood, I decided it’s time I read something by Shirley Jackson. I saw The Haunting (the original, naturalment) a few years back at a film festival and loved it, although I’ll admit my walk home in the dark afterward, though a neighborhood of historic homes, was a bit touch and go. But I made it to safety and quickly added Jackson to my “to read” list.

I stopped by the Dawn Treader Book Shop (a used bookstore with an excellent genre collection) on my way home from work on Friday in hopes of finding an old copy of We Have Always Lived in the Castle. I knew a spooky old retro cover would add to the experience. The Dawn Treader didn’t let me down. They had quite a selection to choose from – and all of them delightful. I was so impressed by the variety of covers available, I thought I’d share them with you. Always interesting to see how a story’s contents are represented over time.

We Have Always Lived in the Castle was originally published in 1962. Here is the cover from the first edition.

Credit: Amazon

The 1966 mass market edition. (This is the edition I purchased. Doesn’t the girl look like she belongs in The Grudge?)

Credit: Amazon

An edition from the 1970s.

Credit: Amazon (user David Rolfe)

Late 70s/early 80s?

Credit: Amazon

The 1984 edition.

Credit: Amazon

The 2006 edition.

Credit: Amazon

The 2009 edition.

Credit: Stuck In A Book (blog)

2010 audio cover. (This one frightens me most of all.)

Credit: Amazon

Which one’s your favorite?

2 Comments

Filed under Covered

2 responses to “Covered: We Have Always Lived In The Castle

  1. Heather

    I originally owned the 1966 mass market edition, but it was pretty fragile because I bought it used, and it was absolutely falling apart after I’d read it a few times, so I bought the 1984 one. That cover is pretty bad, in my opinion, but nothing like as bad as the two that precede it. Yikes! I really like the 2009 cover, though…something about that image is very evocative to me.

Leave a Reply

